News / 85


Dartford is the principal town in the Borough of Dartford in Kent. It lies 16 miles south-east of central London, on the border of Kent and Greater London. It also borders the Borough of Thurrock, Essex, via the Dartford Crossing of the River Thames.

These records comprise over 2,580 records from 20 districts in Dartford, recorded in the 1801 census. They contain the details of households such as members’ first and last names, their status (i.e. lodger, servant, marital status, pensioner, relation to head of household, or whether they were a workhouse inmate), the number of families, males, females and servants in a property, whether employed in agriculture, and the district and address of the household.